On September 17, 2026, Orbis Medicines announced a strategic collaboration and license agreement with Novo Nordisk to discover and develop oral macrocycle therapeutics for cardiometabolic diseases. The headline number is large. The clinical readout is not here yet.
Orbis is eligible for up to USD 1.4 billion in upfront and potential development and commercial milestone payments, plus tiered royalties on future product sales. Novo will also make a strategic investment in Orbis. The companies did not disclose the upfront amount, the investment size, how the $1.4 billion breaks down, or which specific targets are covered.
This is a discovery and licensing pact. It is not a Phase readout, not an IND clearance for a named candidate, and not an FDA approval of an oral peptide or GLP-1.
What happened
According to the company Business Wire release (also carried on BioSpace), Copenhagen-based Orbis Medicines and Novo Nordisk agreed to a multi-target collaboration that uses Orbis's proprietary nGen platform. nGen combines generative AI with high-throughput synthesis to design synthetic macrocycles Orbis calls nCycles, optimized for oral bioavailability and membrane permeability.
Orbis CEO Morten Graugaard framed the deal as a bet on AI, experimental macrocycle datasets, and automated chemistry. Novo's Brian Vandahl, senior vice president of Therapeutics Discovery, said the collaboration aims at innovative oral options for cardiometabolic disease while expanding what macrocycle therapeutics can do.
Orbis says its pipeline focus is nCycles against targets already validated by blockbuster biologic drugs that are delivered by injection. Proof-of-concept work from Orbis has appeared in Nature Communications and Nature Chemical Biology, per the company. Those papers are platform science, not human efficacy for this Novo collaboration.
Why PeptidePrices readers should care
Many of the drugs PeptidePrices readers track are injectable peptides or peptide-adjacent incretins. Oral delivery is the obvious next question: can something with biologic-like target reach survive the gut and still work?
Novo already commercialized oral GLP-1 products that rely on SNAC technology to help peptide absorption, as Reuters noted in its coverage of the deal. Separately, PeptidePrices has covered other oral paths already on or near the market: orforglipron (Foundayo), a non-peptide small-molecule GLP-1 pill, and enlicitide, Merck's oral macrocyclic peptide PCSK9 inhibitor (Lipfendra). Reuters also placed this deal next to recent U.S. approvals of oral macrocyclic peptides: Johnson & Johnson's Icotyde for plaque psoriasis (March) and Merck's Lipfendra for cholesterol (July).
The Orbis-Novo announcement sits in that same oral-versus-injectable conversation. It does not, by itself, name an obesity peptide, a GLP-1 sequence, or a dose you can look up.
Deal terms and evidence (what is actually stated)
What the companies and independent wire coverage support today:
- Economics. Up to USD 1.4 billion in upfront plus potential development and commercial milestones, and tiered royalties. Novo also makes a strategic investment. Upfront, investment size, and milestone schedule: not disclosed (company PR; Reuters).
- Scope. Multi-target discovery and development of orally bioavailable macrocycles for cardiometabolic diseases (company PR; Reuters).
- Platform. Orbis nGen: generative AI, high-throughput chemistry and screening, multi-parameter optimization, "lab-in-the-loop" generation of nCycles (company PR).
- Preclinical bioavailability claim. In a Reuters interview, Graugaard said Orbis's synthetic macrocycles had achieved up to 18% oral bioavailability in preclinical studies. That is a company claim via interview, not a peer-reviewed human PK result for a Novo collaboration candidate.
- Company background. Orbis reports EUR 116 million in venture funding to date, including a EUR 90 million Series A, with sites in Copenhagen and Lausanne (company PR).
What is missing from the public package: named targets, lead molecules, IND timelines, first-in-human start dates, human PK, weight-loss or glycemic endpoints, and any FDA action tied to this pact.
Limitations
Headline dollars are not clinical progress. Milestone-heavy biotech deals often pay most of the "up to" figure only if candidates clear later gates. Until a development candidate is named and dosed in humans, this remains a platform endorsement and a financing/partnership event.
Macrocycles sit between classic small molecules and biologics. Some approved oral macrocyclic peptides already exist in other indications (Reuters cites Icotyde and Lipfendra). That industry context does not transfer efficacy, safety, or oral performance to Orbis's undisclosed cardiometabolic nCycles.
The 18% oral bioavailability figure is preclinical and company-sourced through Reuters. Preclinical bioavailability does not equal human exposure, food-effect behavior, or a commercial pill.
Novo's presence does not mean this collaboration is a next-generation oral semaglutide, oral CagriSema, or any other named incretin. The press materials say cardiometabolic targets and injectable-biologic-validated targets. They do not list GLP-1, GIP, amylin, or glucagon receptors.
What this does not mean
- It does not mean Novo or Orbis launched a new oral obesity or diabetes drug today.
- It does not mean a research-peptide catalog item or gray-market "oral macrocycle" is suddenly validated.
- It does not mean FDA approved, cleared, or reviewed a product from this collaboration.
- It does not replace injectable GLP-1s, dual agonists, or other peptides with a pill you can buy.
- It does not disclose human dose, duration, or side-effect data for any Orbis-Novo candidate.
What to watch next
Useful follow-ups would be concrete, not promotional:
- Disclosure of target classes or a named development candidate.
- IND submission or first-in-human dosing under the collaboration.
- Peer-reviewed or congress human PK/PD once a candidate exists.
- Clarification of how many targets the multi-target deal covers and what fraction of the $1.4 billion is upfront versus contingent.
Until then, treat the story as a same-day partnership signal about oral macrocycle discovery in cardiometabolic disease, not as a clinical win.
FAQs
Is this an FDA approval?
No. It is a collaboration and license agreement announced September 17, 2026.
Is there a named peptide or oral GLP-1 in the deal?
Not in the public materials. The companies describe orally bioavailable synthetic macrocycles (nCycles) for cardiometabolic targets. Specific molecules and targets were not named.
How is this different from orforglipron or oral semaglutide?
Orforglipron is a small-molecule GLP-1 agonist with its own clinical and regulatory path. Novo's existing oral GLP-1 products use SNAC-enabled peptide absorption, per Reuters. This Orbis deal is earlier: discovery of macrocycle candidates, not a labeled product launch.
How does enlicitide fit?
Enlicitide is an example of an oral macrocyclic peptide that already reached the cholesterol market under the Lipfendra brand, which Reuters cited as industry context. It is not a product of the Orbis-Novo collaboration.
Should researchers change anything based on this PR?
No. There is no new human efficacy package, no approved dose, and no catalog SKU tied to this announcement.
Sources
- Orbis Medicines. Orbis Medicines Enters Multi-Target Drug Discovery Partnership with Novo Nordisk Worth up to USD 1.4 Billion. Business Wire. 17 September 2026, 7:00 a.m. ET
- BioSpace reprint of the same Business Wire release (access mirror). 17 September 2026
- Reuters. Novo, Orbis sign up to $1.4 billion deal to develop oral drugs. Siddhi Mahatole. 17 September 2026
Not medical advice. PeptidePrices covers research and industry news for educational comparison. This article describes a corporate discovery partnership, not a treatment recommendation or an approved drug label.
